Trouble With Toast

Recipe: Latin Baked Chicken | January 26, 2011

In the month in between travel to San Francisco (an awesome, delicious trip that we took over MLK weekend) and NYC (an awesome, delicious trip that we’ll be taking over Presidents’ Day weekend), the idea is to dial back the unhealthy eating and drinking and get back into a solid exercise routine.  The latter is always harder, not only due to time constraints but also due to the fact that I like cooking a heck of a lot more than I like working out.  Go figure.

This was one of the first new slimmed-down recipes I tried after the New Year, and it turned out to be really tasty.  The marinade doesn’t sound like much, but reducing it and then brushing it on the chicken a few times during cooking really intensified the flavors and allowed the sugars to caramelize a bit.  You really won’t miss the skin on the chicken – the meat is tender and flavorful – and as I’ve said a thousand times before, skinless thighs are no worse for you than skinless breasts (and since they are smaller in size, I find that they make portion control a little easier).  We enjoyed this chicken with saffron rice and steamed vegetables for an easy weeknight dinner.  I hope you enjoy it as well!

  • 1/4  cup  fresh lime juice
  • 3  tablespoons  less-sodium soy sauce
  • 2  tablespoons  honey
  • 2  tablespoons  minced chipotle chile in adobo sauce
  • 8  (4-ounce) bone-in chicken thighs, skinned

Preheat oven to 400°. Combine lime juice, soy sauce, 2 tablespoons honey, and chipotle in a large bowl. Add chicken, and toss well to coat. Let stand for 10 minutes at room temperature. Arrange the chicken on a broiler pan coated with cooking spray, reserving marinade. Bake at 400° for 15 minutes. Place reserved marinade in a blender, and process until smooth. Place pureed marinade in a small saucepan. Bring to a boil, and cook 3 minutes. Brush chicken with half of cooked sauce; return to oven and bake an additional for 10 minutes. Brush chicken with remaining sauce; bake an additional 10 minutes or until a thermometer registers 165°.

2 Comments »

  1. I would definitely give this recipe a try. I often add reduced sodium soy sauce to poultry when baking it. What peaked my interest in your post was your use of a three day weekend to travel. That may be an assumption on my part. Anyway, I recently decided that I need to go ahead and do this type of travel for myself and not wait for my friends to be able to go. I did this a couple of years ago when I went solo to Miami solo. I had a fabulous time. I enjoyed great food and saw Chicago at the Adrienne Arsht Center. I’m planning on going to Charleston, SC in May. I thought about San Francisco initially but realized I may want to go during the summer or fall and stay longer.

    Comment by Karen — February 13, 2011 @ 3:28 am

    • Charleston is a great weekend trip – we are actually going in June. I agree that San Francisco requires a bit more time, especially if you are traveling there from the East Coast.

      Comment by bettyjoan — April 6, 2011 @ 11:03 am


Leave a Reply

