Trouble With Toast

To make an end is to make a beginning | December 30, 2010

”For last year’s words belong to last year’s language,

And next year’s words await another voice.”

T.S. Eliot, “Little Gidding”

Wow, another year down the drain – can you believe it?  I know that the ol’ blog hasn’t been as hoppin’ as usual in 2010, but you’ll have to forgive me – between travel (two trips to DC, one trip to Salt Lake City, one trip to Tampa/St. Pete, one trip to St. Paul/Minneapolis, one trip to Destin, two trips to Charleston, and one trip to Chicago), my sister’s wedding, four other weddings, three triathlons, one full marathon, and buying a house, I didn’t have as much time as I wanted to tackle this list of food resolutions.

I didn’t TOTALLY bum out, though.  In January, I discovered some killer blueberry muffins, thanks to America’s Test Kitchen.  In February, my husband and I made friends with the Four Coursemen, and I wrote about the beginning of my love affair with Holeman & Finch.  I was eating healthy in March, which brought this awesome barley salad into my repertoire.  I was doing a lot of fundraising in April, for Share Our Strength and the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.  May involved lots of low and slow cooking, despite the warmer temperatures.  The worst season of Top Chef EVER, Top Chef D.C., started in June.  July had lots of salads, as one would expect during summer in the south.  We took a tasty trip to Chucktown in August, during which we revisited Poe’s but also tried FIG and The Glass Onion.  In September, I was obsessed with peaches.  October was busy, what with that pesky marathon, but I did find a new go-to chicken dish.  November of course included Thanksgiving, but before the holiday, I made two great Martha Stewart meals.  Which brings us to December – an exciting month in which Top Chef started its all-star season, and I posted about my first experience in trying to mimic Thomas Keller.

What will 2011 hold?  We already have a trip to San Francisco on the books (in 2 weeks, woo hoo!), BlogHer Food is coming to Atlanta in May, I know we’ll be in Charleston at least once, and I still have lots of cooking to do in my new kitchen.  So, all signs point to an exciting and tasty year!

I hope you all have a wonderful weekend, and a fantastic end of 2010.  See you next year!


Leave a Comment »

Leave a comment