Trouble With Toast

Recipe: Crispy Ginger-Lime Chicken Thighs | November 9, 2010

I love chicken thighs.  They are, by far, my favorite part of the bird, and the reason I volunteer as chicken-carver in my house (so I can get first dibs).  When they go on sale at the supermarket, I buy them in bulk and then freeze them for tasty future meals like this one.

As I was flipping through my newest cookbook (Martha Stewart’s Fresh Flavor Fast, a follow up to Great Food Fast, which I really enjoyed), this recipe immediately caught my eye – not only because it used chicken thighs, but because it highlighted everything that I love about that paticular piece of meat.

The dish was very tasty, and pretty darn simple.  The spice mixture rubbed under the skin really emphasizes the rich flavor of the thigh meat.  And broiling the thighs is a great way to crisp up the delicious skin without having to keep your eyes on an oil-laden pan.  I served this with some couscous and carrots, and it was a fantastically fresh weeknight treat.  Sorry, no photos, as I completely forgot to get the camera out before I chowed down – I told you I really liked chicken thighs!

  • 1 tablespoon finely grated peeled fresh ginger
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
  • 2 teaspoons curry powder
  • 4 scallions, minced
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 8 bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs

Heat broiler, with rack set 4 inches from heat. Line a rimmed baking sheet with aluminum foil; set aside. In a small bowl, combine ginger, lime juice, curry powder, scallions, 1 teaspoon salt, and teaspoon pepper.

Arrange chicken on prepared baking sheet; season with salt and pepper. Gently loosen skin from each piece of chicken. Dividing evenly, rub ginger mixture under skin.

Turn thighs, skin side down, on baking sheet. Broil about 5 minutes. Flip thighs, skin side up, and continue to broil until skin is crisp and an instant-read thermometer inserted into thickest part of thighs (avoiding bone) registers 165 degrees, 6 to 8 minutes more. Serve chicken drizzled with pan juices.

Posted in Recipes
Tags: , ,

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

