Trouble With Toast

Recipe: Deviled Eggs with Smoked Salmon and Herbs | April 7, 2010

I find it really funny that deviled eggs are a super-popular Easter treat, ya know, since the word DEVIL is featured so prominently.  Tee.  Anywho, since I don’t celebrate Easter, I get my satanic egg fix at picnics – and lo and behold, I went to a picnic just recently!

As I had just been in Utah for a week, I brought a big Chick-fil-a nugget tray as my “main course” (and, as you can imagine, it was gone in about 30 seconds).  But I couldn’t show up without some kind of homemade treat – after all, I have a reputation to uphold.  I saw these eggs in a recent issue of Cooking Light magazine, and they seemed like the perfect twist on a spring classic.  They are easy to make, but difficult to make beautiful – no matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t seem to get the cuts to be perfectly smooth and even (thus the lack of a decent picture).  Oh, well, they tasted yummy!

  • 8  large eggs
  • 1/4  cup  fat-free sour cream
  • 1  tablespoon  chopped fresh chives
  • 2  tablespoons  reduced-fat mayonnaise
  • 1  tablespoon  Dijon mustard
  • 2  teaspoons  minced fresh tarragon
  • 2  teaspoons  minced fresh dill
  • 1/4  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper
  • 2  ounces  cold-smoked salmon, finely chopped
  • 16  small dill sprigs (optional)
  • 16  small tarragon sprigs (optional)

Place eggs in a large saucepan. Cover with cool water to 1 inch above eggs; bring just to a rolling boil. Remove from heat; cover and let stand 15 minutes. Drain and rinse with cold running water until cool.

Peel eggs; cut in half lengthwise. Place yolks in a medium bowl; mash with a fork until smooth. Add sour cream and next 7 ingredients (through salmon); stir well. Spoon mixture into egg white halves (about 1 tablespoon in each half). Garnish with dill and tarragon sprigs, if desired.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

