Trouble With Toast

Worthy Food Fundraisers | April 2, 2010

On this beautiful Friday morning, I thought I’d give you Atlanta peeps a heads-up on some ways you can eat well AND do good!

Two weeks from tomorrow, on April 17, 2010, is the 1st Annual Food Bloggers Bake Sale!!!  The bake sale is a nationwide event happening across the country on that date, and it’s all in coordination with Share Our Strength – the country’s leading hunger based charity – and the opening of their fundraising season. 

In Georgia, delicious goodies will be on sale on the 17th from 9 AM to 1 PM at the Cabbagetown Market in the heart of the Cabbagetown area of Atlanta.  The nice folks at Agave Restaurant have donated the use of their parking lot for the day.  It’s less than a block walk to the Cabbagetown Market.  AND, to sweeten (haha!) the deal, Agave has agreed to give a $10 off coupon to every person who makes a purchase at the bake sale!

I will be contributing a few of my famous key lime pies and probably some blueberry muffins (hell, and maybe even some savory scones, if I’m feeling particularly ambitious).  So, come on out and treat yourself to some treats – baked by your very own local food bloggers!  (If you can’t make it on the 17th, you can make a donation here: http://join.strength.org/site/TR/CEM/General?team_id=92800&pg=team&fr_id=1110)

The following day, I am hosting a cooking class to benefit my fundraising for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society (I am training for the Chicago Marathon, in addition to my usual triathlons – read more here).  The theme is “Eating for Athletes,” and it will focus on quick and healthy meals and snacks for the athlete on the go!  While gearing up for these endurance events, I have had to learn how to prepare GOOD fuel for my body so that I don’t gorge on junk when I’m hungry – which is basically all the time.

I will demo at least three meals (breakfast, lunch, and dinner) and at least one snack.  I will also provide munchies and adult beverages during the class, in addition to recipe cards and perhaps some other surprise goodies.  🙂  The cost for all of this is a mere $50 tax deductible donation – such a deal!

Again, the class is April 18, at about 1 PM (in the Lawrenceville/Duluth area).  If you’d like to attend, please email me at betty.rhoades@gmail.com in order to confirm your spot and get payment instructions and directions.  Of course, if you cannot attend the class, feel free to make a donation here.

Don’t hesitate to get in touch if you have questions about either event.  Hope to see you at one or both!

3 Comments »

  1. I’m loving your blog! I look forward to going back and reading some older posts. I found it searching for a warm caramelized onion dip.

    Comment by Laura — April 2, 2010 @ 11:40 pm

    • Thanks so much, Laura, and welcome! I hope to be posting a bit more, as I have just been swamped with…well, everything lately!

      Comment by bettyjoan — April 7, 2010 @ 11:51 am

  2. […] to Tampa/St. Pete and then to Minneapolis/St. Paul), I thought I’d update everyone on the fundraisers I mentioned at the beginning of the […]

    Pingback by Fundraiser update « Trouble With Toast — April 18, 2010 @ 12:13 pm


Leave a Reply

