Trouble With Toast

2009 – Full Throttle, Full Circle | December 29, 2009

As I look back on the past twelve months, I can’t help but wonder what the hell I was thinking.  I mean, I crammed an AWFUL lot of action into one year.  I got promoted.  I ran two half-marathons.  I completed two triathlons.  I traveled a LOT.  My cat was deathly ill, then miraculously recovered.  I got married.  My husband got laid off and then started his own business.  We moved to the suburbs.  Whew.

Food wise, it’s also been quite a year…

I started the year in DC, eating my way through the city and making cheap and delicious food with Miss Lemmonex, and then I came home to be interviewed by the AJC.  In February, I perfected roasted chicken and granola, and Tom Colicchio redeemed himself to me.  In March, I finally wrote about the life-changing experience that was my dinner at The French Laundry, and I made grapefruit cake with Lexa after binging on burgers.  April found me turning the tables and interviewing John Kessler, and since my triathlon training was in full swing in May, that month brought some fantastic healthy recipes (in addition to another fascinating interview).  June was a wash, but in July I mastered pesto and made some great seafood dishes.  In August, I started recapping Top Chef, but my biggest hit was this non-traditional take on tiramisu.  September’s highlights included my wedding (duh) and my bachelorette party meal at Tomo.  October was a big month: first and most importantly, I challenged myself (and my husband) to eat and drink on $60 for an entire week, and it was an incredibly eye-opening experience that I hope to try again in the coming year.  Also in October?  I met Kevin Gillespie and discovered the beauty of the perfect pancake.  I made bread for the first time in November, and in December, after a really cool interview, comfort food was the name of the game.

I find it cathartic that I will end 2009 where I (sort of) started it – in Washington, DC.  Yes, my husband and I leave tomorrow for our belated honeymoon in the nation’s capital, which happens to be where we met.  We’re going to see some dear friends, ring in 2010 at a James Bond-themed party, eat and drink at some of our favorite haunts, see some shows and museums, and gear up to start another incredible year together.  I hope to have lots of interesting nuggets to share about the DC dining scene when I return!

This will be my last post until early 2010, so I want to wish everyone a Happy New Year!  As far as resolutions, I only have one – to have as much fun with this blog in 2010 as I did in 2009.

See you next year!

2 Comments »

  1. 1. That graprefruit cake was awesome.

    2. I cannot wait to see you.

    Comment by lemmonex — December 29, 2009 @ 2:34 pm

  2. 1. Agreed.

    2. DEFINITELY agreed. Thanks for coming out! 🙂

    Comment by bettyjoan — January 5, 2010 @ 4:09 pm


Leave a Reply

