Trouble With Toast

Recipe: Sesame-Crusted Salmon with Orange-Miso Sauce | December 28, 2009

Okay, one more cocktail party recipe before we wrap up 2009 here at TWT…

This dish started out being troublesome.  First off, my husband had to drive halfway across the state to find miso paste, despite the fact that we live in an area that has probably the highest Asian population in metro Atlanta (I would have substituted something if I knew what would work – any ideas, as a side note?).  Second, while I thought I already had ginger in the house, I realized only AFTER returning from shopping that it was no longer fresh.  Grrrr…

I made the orange miso sauce ahead of time and put it in the fridge.  However, I basically forgot about this dish until a few hours into the party, until I went into the chill chest to open a new bottle of white wine.  I stared at the salmon, torn over whether to present another appetizer or simply save the fish for a weeknight dinner.

“So…what are you going to make with that?” asked one of my guests.

“Eh, I was going to make a sesame salmon dish, but I’m not sure it’s even worth it at this point,” I replied.  “It looks like folks are slowing down, and that maybe we don’t need any more food.”  She stared at me incredulously, then narrowed her eyes and focused in on me.

“Seriously, what do I have to do to get you to make that fish???”

I laughed out loud – that was all I needed to hear.  I quickly prepped and cooked the salmon, and I arranged the skewered pieces on a platter with the sauce.  As it turns out, I am incredibly glad that I served this salmon.  It was light, tasty, easy to throw together, and a complete and utter hit.  I thought the fish was so flavorful on its own that it didn’t even need the sauce, but I was definitely in the minority there – people were grabbing stray bread and crackers just to sop up the nutty, citrusy goodness.

Moms, if you need a way to coax your kids to eat fish, this might just be the ticket.

  • 1 cup mayonnaise
  • 2 tablespoons frozen orange juice concentrate, thawed
  • 1 tablespoon yellow miso (fermented soybean paste)*
  • 1 tablespoon sesame oil
  • 1 teaspoon grated peeled fresh ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon grated orange peel
  • 1 1/2 pounds skinless salmon fillet, cut into 3/4-inch cubes (about 48 pieces)
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 5 tablespoons sesame seeds (white and/or black)

Whisk first 6 ingredients in medium bowl to blend well. Season orange-miso sauce to taste with salt and pepper.

Line large baking sheet with foil. Place salmon and vegetable oil in large bowl; toss to coat. Sprinkle salmon with salt and pepper. Place sesame seeds on small plate. Coat 1 surface of each salmon piece with sesame seeds. Arrange salmon, sesame-coated side up, in single layer on prepared baking sheet.

Preheat oven to 400°F. Bake salmon uncovered until just cooked through, about 5 minutes; transfer to platter. Skewer each piece with toothpick. Serve warm, passing orange-miso sauce.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

