Trouble With Toast

Back to life, back to reality | November 30, 2009

Back to the here and now, indeed.

Thanksgiving was wonderful, full of love and laughter and LOTS of food.  On Thursday night, we had our traditional non-traditional Thurber meal of standing rib roast, green beans, sauteed mushrooms, and roasted potatoes.  On Friday night, the Barzelay clan whipped up turkey, mashed potatoes and gravy, peas, cornbread dressing, and yam and apple casserole.  Desserts were plentiful and included my mom’s famous bundt cake (yellow cake with raisins, topped with THICK vanilla and chocolate icings) and David’s mom’s famous carrot cake and apple pie.  Breakfasts usually included homemade buttermilk biscuits and some sort of meat product.  Leftovers disappeared faster than anyone anticipated.  On Saturday, we enjoyed pigs in blankets and hanky panky while watching Georgia beat Georgia Tech in one hell of a rivalry game.  Life was good.

Now, I am sad that my sister has to fly back to California, AND I am sad that I’ve put on so much weight over the course of one week.  I am excited to get back into the swing of healthy eating (and blog posting), but I still need some time to recover and strategize.  I also have to post a really awesome Personality Profile that I think you will all enjoy.  So, do come by later in the week, but for now…

Tell me about your Thanksgivings!  I’d love to hear all about your traditions in the comments.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

