Trouble With Toast

Too blah to blog | November 19, 2009

Okay, I know I’m supposed to post a Top Chef recap.  But I just can’t.  I am too damn tired, for one, and I just didn’t find last night’s episode interesting enough to write about.  I mean, yeah, it’s great that Kevin won, and it’s sad that Eli went home (though I think he’s fortunate to have made it so far), but haven’t we all been predicting this very final four for weeks now?  Also, no offense to Thomas Keller or the other esteemed tablemates, but the whole Bocuse D’Or thing just SCREAMS 80s to me.  I mean, the mirrored platters and the ornate garnishes?  It’s just not my bag, baby.  I do want to note that Padma and Gail looked beautiful, and that Mike V. is still a dickwad (at least, they are painting him to LOOK like a dickwad, since Robin isn’t around to be the villain anymore).

On an unrelated note, the reason I am so tired is that we moved out of our condo on the quick.  It’s a long story, but the good news is that we are quasi-settled in a better place, and I now have a bigger, shinier kitchen to mess around in.  The first thing I made: ginger chewies, for a holiday luncheon at work.  I first had these delightful cookies at the Eat on $30 wrap party.  They looked plain and unassuming, like regular ol’ ginger snaps, but they turned out to be oh so much more.  For the recipe and some additional tips and thoughts, go visit my dear friend Tami over at Running With Tweezers.  Go on, now.  She’s very friendly.

I’ll be back next week.  Have a great one!

2 Comments »

  1. Yeah, I was really disappointed that Mike V. didn’t do some totally molecular presentation on the silly mirrored platters.

    Comment by Barzelay — November 21, 2009 @ 9:50 am

  2. Yeah, I would have thought he would rock that challenge, given how precise he has been throughout the season.

    Comment by bettyjoan — November 23, 2009 @ 7:41 pm


Leave a Reply

