Trouble With Toast

Playing with pesto | April 28, 2009

Over the past few months, I have used a company called The Vegetable Husband in order to procure fresh, local, organic produce.  Each week, I get a basket of whatever has been recently harvested–and then I get to figure out how to incorporate everything into our weekly meals!  I feel good that I’m supporting local agriculture and business while also expanding my veggie horizons.  I’ve definitely eaten more greens this winter than ever before!

Last week, the basket included some absolutely beautiful mint.  If I was a rum drinker, there would have been some VERY delicious mojitos consumed!  Instead, I decided to throw together a homemade mint pesto.  Into the blender went the mint (two decent-sized bunches), 4 cloves of garlic, the zest and juice of one lemon, some kosher salt, and enough olive oil to bind things together.  I tossed the pesto with some whole wheat spaghetti, sauteed shrimp, tomatoes, and goat cheese–and it was delicious!  No recipe, no measurements, just quality ingredients and a very small amount of imagination.

As spring and summer roll on, I encourage all of you to throw caution to the wind and play around in the kitchen.  Make the most of your locally available produce, and let the flavors of the season shine through!

mint-pesto-pasta

2 Comments »

  1. Yay! Death to recipes!

    Comment by Barzelay — April 30, 2009 @ 11:30 am

  2. Haha, I knew you’d say something like that. I hope to be able to play around more with ingredients, now that my favorite spring/summer produce is coming in.

    Comment by bettyjoan — April 30, 2009 @ 3:21 pm


Leave a Reply

