Trouble With Toast

Wow…just, wow | April 15, 2009

I don’t know how I missed this yesterday, but Bill Addison (Covered Dish) and Cliff Bostock (Omnivore Atlanta) are reporting that John Kessler has been reassigned.  He’s still with the AJC, but the paper has taken him off the food beat–now, instead, he will be writing personality profiles for the Sunday edition.  It is unclear whether John will keep blogging, either via his current “Food and More” site or a yet-to-be-determined non-AJC-affiliated venture.

I understand that times are tough for newspapers across the country, but this decision really bums me out.  Not to disparage anyone else who writes about food for the AJC, but John was my primary reason for reading.  As you can tell from my recent interview with Mr. Kessler himself, his intelligence and sense of humor brought a really unique voice to the Atlanta food and dining scene.  His perspective will definitely be missed.

Yes, I know he didn’t DIE, and I know I can keep reading his non-food-related pieces, but I’m sad to see John’s focus shifted from the culinary to…well, I guess we’ll just have to see.  In any case, I wish him the best of luck.  John, if you need a place to blog, you can always guest post here!

UPDATE (4/17/09): Looks like John will still be writing his “Restaurant Stories” column for the AJC, in addition to his new feature.  Yay!

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

