Trouble With Toast

Interview, part deux | January 30, 2009

So, the lovely Oxen Cox of Foodie Pop was interviewed recently, so I asked her to do the same for me.  I’m not going to repeat the instructions, since I already posted them here.  On we go!

1. So I saw on your site that you are engaged.  What is the first meal you made for your significant other?

Wow, I have no idea, since a) that was a long time ago, b) we ate out a good amount in the beginning of our relationship, and c) I cook A LOT.  I do, however, remember the first and only meal my fiance ever made for me.  It was in his teeny tiny kitchen in his teeny tiny Foggy Bottom studio apartment, and it was spaghetti and salad.  I believe he also attempted chocolate chip cookies for dessert.  It was a HUGE gesture for him to make, since he doesn’t really use knives or know how to boil water.  Very sweet.

2. If you were to open or invest in a restaurant, what would you call it?

Great question–but difficult!  The literary geek in me would like to call it “Prufrock’s” or something (I’m a T.S. Eliot guru), but I’d probably be the only one amused by that.  Maybe I’d just stick to using my name.  “Betty’s” has a nice ring to it, I suppose.

3. Which one of the Seven Dwarfs do you connect with the most?

Today, probably Sleepy!  Most of the time, though, I think I’m Happy.  I’m a pretty upbeat, energetic, glass-is-half-full kind of gal, even if I don’t whistle while I work and all that.

4. Someone picks you up in a time machine and says that you can go and visit one place in time.  Where do you go?

I’m a huge James Dean buff, so I would probably go back to the early- to mid-50s in Hollywood.  He was such a pivotal figure for teenage rebellion during that time frame, and I think it would have been cool to witness his all-to-brief acting career while it was evolving.  There were some other very bright stars during that period, too, so it would be a side benefit to see Hollywood when it was filled with talent (as opposed to the reality TV assclowns who seem to dominate the airwaves these days).

5. What is your favorite meal of the day?  Breakfast, brunch, lunch, snack, dinner, drunk food…you get it.

Breakfast, hands down.  I think eggs are pretty much the perfect food, and breakfast carbs (bagels and donuts in particular) ain’t too shabby either.  I am equally enamored of bacon and sausage.  Add some mimosas in there, and I am one happy lady.  Don’t get me wrong, drunk food is good stuff, but since I usually end up treating my drunkenness with greasy breakfast-related goodies (gotta love the Waffle House, baby), it all comes back to the most important meal of the day.

Ta da!  Have a great weekend, folks…

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

