Trouble With Toast

Interview with a blogger | January 26, 2009

Thanks to the interview “meme” that’s been circulating lately, I discovered a new blog.  This is great for my entertainment but bad for my overall productivity.  Oh, well.

In any case, Brian of Life of Brian was interviewed recently, and he decided to keep the dream alive by interviewing little ol’ me.  Here are the questions and answers!

1. What inspired you to start blogging to begin with?

Well, it wasn’t so much inspiration as it was boredom and narcissism.  Back in spring of 2005, I was getting ready to graduate from law school and move to DC.  With my plans already arranged, I didn’t have a whole lot of productive things to do (note: I should have started studying for the bar exam right then and there, but that brilliant idea didn’t occur to me at the time).  After reading a few blogs written by friends, I decided to start one of my own so that friends and family could read about my adventures, so Drawn to the Rhythm was born.  It had a nice run, despite not having a cohesive theme or any visual appeal.  After a while, though, it felt really forced.  I did a little bit of writing on my sister’s boyfriend’s blog, EatFoo (which is still active and much better than it ever was when I was involved), but then I decided to go it alone and create a food blog that would allow me to write about the dishes and restaurants that  speak to me.  And here it is!

2. What would be your last meal, if you could pick it?

It would be a multi-course affair, no doubt.  For my amuse bouche, I’d eat a serving of eggs benedict in one bite (hey, if it’s not one bite, it’s not an amuse).  I’d move on to a mushroom-swiss burger, served rare, with extra crunchy tater tots.  Then I’d enjoy a large Hawaiian pizza.  For dessert, I would destroy a whole batch of my mom’s homemade brownies.

3. Would you be a TV chef if it was offered to you?

I’m torn on this one.  I do adore some TV chefs (Julia Child, Ina Garten, and Alton Brown come to mind), and I definitely think I have the personality for something like that.  But, since chefs are bona fide celebrities these days, to accept a TV gig I would also have to accept the paparazzi, the haters, the non-cooking-related commitments, the product placement, and all of that rubbish.  I think public television is the only way I’d be able to go.

4. You have to spend 1 million dollars in one day and have nothing to show for it at the end, what do you buy?

GREAT question, Brian!   I think I would commission a private jet and fly to Barcelona, and then I’d rent a killer convertible and drive to El Bulli for dinner.  Whatever was leftover I would probably give to charity (animal rescue and cancer research are my two primary causes).

5. One ingredient you could never live without?

Cilantro.  Not only is it one of my favorite herbs, but it is an important ingredient in both Latin and Asian cooking.  The only frustrating thing about it is that so many people hate it.  More for me!

Thanks again to Brian–definitely check out his blog!  And feel free to shout out in the comments if you’d like me to interview you.  Here are the rules:

1. You will update your blog with the answers to the questions. Be sure you link back to the original post.
2. You will include this explanation and an offer to interview someone else in the same post.
3. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five questions.

4 Comments »

  1. Surprised you didn’t say mustard…

    Also, though you don’t have something tangible to show, you certainly get something from life experiences. It is a really good questions, but I am a true believer that we have stuff to “show” for everything.

    Comment by Lemmonex — January 26, 2009 @ 3:03 pm

  2. Thanks for the shout-out!

    Comment by Barzelay — January 26, 2009 @ 8:42 pm

  3. Lem: I thought about mustard, which is a staple in my kitchen. But, I think I’d be sadder to give up cilantro, honestly.

    Barzelay: You’re welcome!

    Comment by bettyjoan — January 27, 2009 @ 12:43 am

  4. […] do the same for me.  I’m not going to repeat the instructions, since I already posted them here.  On we […]

    Pingback by Interview, part deux « Trouble With Toast — January 30, 2009 @ 2:27 pm


Leave a Reply

