Trouble With Toast

Recipe: Double Chocolate Biscotti | December 24, 2008

Lately, as I’ve stopped at Starbucks for my beverage of choice (usually just drip coffee, black, or a triple Venti sugar-free vanilla soy latte, if I’m in the mood for something froofy), I’ve also gotten into the habit of picking up a chocolate old-fashioned donut.  They’re surprisingly good, and somehow they don’t feel as artery-clogging as the local favorite, Krispy Kreme.

A donut is a donut, though, and I decided I needed a healthier way to satisfy my morning chocolate cravings.  Thus, I went out of my comfort zone and made these homemade biscotti.  As Miss Lemmonex can tell you, I panicked at every stage of their preparation; however, they actually turned out really well.  They were full of cocoa flavor, and they had that great crunchy outside with just a teensy bit of softness in the very middle.  They were quite good dunked in my black coffee for a breakfast treat, but they also paired well with milk as a dessert.  I still treat myself to a donut every once in a while, but it’s nice to have a more figure-friendly option.  Enjoy!

  • 6.75  ounces  all-purpose flour (about 1 1/2 cups)
  • 1  cup  sugar
  • 1/2  cup  unsweetened cocoa
  • 1/2  cup  semisweet chocolate minichips
  • 1/2  teaspoon  baking powder
  • 1/2  teaspoon  baking soda
  • 1/2  teaspoon  salt
  • 1  teaspoon  vanilla extract
  • 2  large eggs
  • 1  large egg white
  • Cooking spray

Preheat oven to 350°.

Weigh or lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine flour and next 6 ingredients (through salt) in a medium bowl, stirring with a whisk. Combine vanilla, eggs, and egg white in a large bowl, stirring with a whisk. Add flour mixture to egg mixture; stir until well blended. Divide dough in half. Turn dough out onto a baking sheet coated with cooking spray. With floured hands, shape each dough half into a 12-inch-long roll; pat to 1/2-inch thickness.

Bake at 350° for 22 minutes. Remove rolls from baking sheet; cool 10 minutes on a wire rack. Cut each roll diagonally into 18 (1/2-inch) slices. Carefully stand slices upright on baking sheet. Bake biscotti an additional 15 minutes or until almost firm (biscotti will be slightly soft in center but will harden as they cool). Remove biscotti from baking sheet; cool completely on wire rack.

* Sorry, no picture (the lighting just didn’t work).  They look like biscotti!

2 Comments »

  1. Not to say I told you so, but I told you so.

    Comment by Lemmonex — December 26, 2008 @ 12:41 am

  2. Why I don’t trust you to begin with, I will never know. 😉

    Comment by bettyjoan — December 26, 2008 @ 2:07 am


Leave a Reply

