Trouble With Toast

Special Pancakes | December 18, 2008

When I was a kid, breakfast was always a fun weekend tradition.  My dad was the omelette master, my grandmother made great home fries, and my mom…well, she made special pancakes.  The minute I smelled their sweetness wafting upstairs, I bolted out of bed and stood by the stove as she mixed batter and then formed thin, crepe-like cakes.  I loved that they developed delicious brown “craters” as they cooked through.  I loved trying to get away with putting just confectioners sugar inside the rolled treats (instead of the usual jams and jellies).  Most of all, I loved that the whole family spent time together in the kitchen while the pancakes were being flipped.

As an adult, I realize that the recipe is as simple as they come.  All you do is combine 1/2 cup all-purpose flour, 1/2 cup cold milk, 3 eggs, and a pinch of salt, mix until smooth, and then pour the batter into a large nonstick skillet (swirling to spread) over low-medium heat.  When the edges curl up, flip and cook a few minutes more.  Place some fruit or preserves atop the finished pancake, roll, and top with sugar.

As an adult, I also realize that the simplest gestures can convey the most complex feelings–like the love I shared with Jason when I made these special pancakes for him this past weekend, and the love my mother shared with me when she did the same throughout my childhood.

special-pancakes

2 Comments »

  1. Aw. I had crepes at my Memere’s all the time as a kid. We would smother them in butter and brown sugar, roll them up and top with a lake of maple syrup. I can still taste them.

    Comment by Lemmonex — December 18, 2008 @ 2:01 pm

  2. I love how you had a similar tradition. When you were a kid, didn’t you think crepes must be the most complicated thing EVER? And now they’re so beautifully simple?

    Comment by bettyjoan — December 18, 2008 @ 4:02 pm


Leave a Reply

