Trouble With Toast

Giving Thanks | November 26, 2008

As many families do, we go around the table at Thanksgiving and share with each other what we’re grateful for.  So as not to botch the public version (particularly since we’re having brand new guests this year), I thought I’d practice on my dear readers.  I’ll skip the “I’m thankful for my family and friends” routine (though I am) and focus on the culinary blessings I have been given.  Hey, this IS a food blog!

* I’m thankful for our non-traditional Thanksgiving feast: prime rib, roasted potatoes (my grandpa’s fave), boiled green beans, and sauteed mushrooms.

* I’m thankful that this year, our new guests will be preparing a more traditional meal for Friday night’s dinner, complete with turkey and stuffing.

* I’m thankful that we have plenty of food to eat year-round, as I know that this is not the case for everyone.

* I’m thankful for any candy that combines peppermint and chocolate.

* I’m thankful for each and every Chick-fil-a that I frequent throughout the great state of Georgia.  Mmmmm, nugs.

* I’m thankful for ribeye steaks, seasoned only with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and Worcestershire sauce, and seared rare on a sizzling hot grill.

* I’m thankful for the Ansley Mall Publix, which has the nicest and most helpful grocery store employees I’ve ever encountered.

* I’m thankful for my fiance, who nearly always lets me choose the restaurant and who gives me honest feedback on my kitchen experiments.

* I’m thankful for Iron Chef America, Good Eats, Top Chef, and old episodes of Baking with Julia on public television.

* I’m thankful for Williams-Sonoma, and for anyone who buys me one of their gift certificates.

* I’m thankful for my upcoming trip to DC, where I will play with fellow foodies and revisit my perennial dining faves in our nation’s capital.

* I’m thankful for my mom’s homemade brownies and my dad’s homemade clam chowder.

* I’m thankful for the Vortex and its bison burgers, tots, and killer beer selection.

* I’m thankful for grilled cheese and tomato sandwiches on wheat bread.

* I’m thankful for pre-made, refrigerated pie crusts.  Sure, they’re not as good as homemade, but they allow me to bake delicious things AND spend time with my hunny and my critters.

* I’m thankful for Trader Joe’s and its aisles and aisles of delicious, affordable goodies (special shout out to the fruit jellies, a snack that never makes it through the ride home).

Most importantly, I’m thankful for all of the friends and good times that have come to me through my love of food.  It continues to amaze me that such a simple act–eating–can bring so many different people, cultures, and lives together.  May you all enjoy your Thanksgiving feasts!

4 Comments »

  1. Yes, very great indeed your fiance’s feedback is honest and thoughtful.

    I am thankful for you, betty, a real and true friend .

    Comment by Lemmonex — November 26, 2008 @ 10:10 pm

  2. I especially like the way you are not a martyr to “from scratch” cooking, which in the long run usually doesn’t make a bit of difference.

    Comment by barbara — November 28, 2008 @ 2:17 am

  3. Prime rib! I am muy jealous!

    Comment by LiLu — November 30, 2008 @ 3:39 am

  4. Lem: I am so thankful for you, and for our daily gchats. You have no idea how much your friendship means to me (and how much funner you make my workdays, haha)!

    Barbara: Thanks! I like to think I use patience (for homemade) and restraint (for not-so-homemade) in equal measure. 🙂

    LiLu: Yes, the “turkey kids” always wanted to come to my Thanksgiving instead. Too bad I was jealous of their sides! Mmmmm, stuffing…

    Comment by bettyjoan — December 1, 2008 @ 12:06 pm


Leave a Reply

