Trouble With Toast

Back to Basics: Brown Chicken Stock | October 27, 2008

This weekend, I turned my previously made white chicken stock into a brown chicken stock, which will eventually be used in a fancy shmancy lamb dish.  Since I had started with the white, the brown was very easy, as most of the process is the same.  I also used Tom Colicchio’s recipe for this stock, since the previous one turned out so well.

The main difference: you brown the 4 pounds of chicken parts/bones before you add any liquid.  I did so, and then I covered the browned chicken (by about an inch) with the white chicken stock.  You could certainly use water, but obviously the flavors won’t be as rich.  I also added two teaspoons of tomato paste (which, consequently, is also a source of this stock’s darker color).  I let the liquid come to a boil, and then I simmered for about an hour.  Note that, this time, I did NOT do two boils!

After the simmer, I added pretty much the same veggie mixture as I used in the white stock (the peppercorns are the only obvious omission): a quartered onion, two chopped leeks (white part only), 1-2 chopped carrots, 2 stalks of chopped celery, and a bay leaf.  I continued to simmer for about 15 minutes, and then I added the herbs: 3-4 twigs of fresh flat-leaf parsley, 1 twig of thyme, and 1 twig of rosemary (which was not a part of the white stock recipe).  Five more minutes of simmering, and voila!  Stock!

After straining, I let the stock come to room temperature and skimmed off the last layer of “scum.”  Then I froze it.  No pictures, sadly, but I am really happy with the result.  The color is right, the clarity is right, the flavor is right–and I think the homemade stock is going to make a huge difference in my braised lamb.

Moral of the story?  I’ll never buy canned stock again…and neither should you!

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

