Trouble With Toast

Recipe: Lamb Sausage | September 29, 2008

I love breakfast.  It is, hands down, my favorite meal.  When I was living in the sorority house, seeing “breakfast for dinner” on the menu was nearly as exciting as when we scored a social with a hottie-filled frat (yes, my priorities were very different back then).

I do also love bacon, but I think I would give sausage the edge as my breakfast meat of choice.  So, when I saw this recipe for homemade patties on Bon Appetit’s website, I knew I had to give it a go.  They were really tasty, though they reminded me more of mini-lamb burgers than of breakfast sausage.  The garlic really made the lamb pop, the feta added a nice salty note, and the mint rounded all the flavors out quite nicely.  Served with eggs and hash browns, it was such a hearty, delicious meal that I didn’t eat for the rest of the day!

  • 1 1/2 pounds ground lamb shoulder
    2 large garlic cloves, pressed
    1 1/2 teaspoons coarse kosher salt
    1/3 cup crumbled feta cheese
    1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh mint
    1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil

Place lamb in large bowl. Sprinkle garlic and salt over. Gently toss lamb to blend. Combine feta and mint in small bowl.

Divide lamb into 12 equal mounds. Using damp hands, shape each into ball. Working with 1 ball at a time, poke thumb into center to make hole. Press 1 teaspoon feta-mint filling into hole. Pinch hole closed, then press ball between palms to flatten into 3/4-inch-thick disk. Repeat with remaining lamb and feta-mint filling.

Preheat oven to 250°F. Heat olive oil in heavy large skillet over medium heat. Working in 2 batches, cook lamb sausages until browned on both sides and cooked to desired doneness, about 3 minutes per side for medium. Transfer sausages to rimmed baking sheet and place in oven to keep warm. Serve hot.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

