Trouble With Toast

Recipe: Shrimp and Grits | September 1, 2008

Well, I promised that I’d be back soon, with “stories from the road” in tow.  Unfortunately, while on the road, I was struck with a mystery virus and had to take an emergency Friday morning flight back to Atlanta in order to spend that afternoon and evening in the hospital.  So, I never saw downtown Austin, and I never even made it to San Antonio (where I was supposed to have a romantic weekend away with my honey).  Boo!

In any case, apologies for my lack of Texas-related tales.  Instead, here’s a delicious recipe I made before I departed.  It’s adapted from Cooking Light magazine, and it really turned out well.  Careful not to overcook the grits; for those of you not raised in the South, pull them off the heat while they still look a little runny (the five minutes of suggested cooking time should be plenty), and they’ll firm up as you add the cheese.  Enjoy!

  • 1/2 cup chopped Canadian bacon
    1 cup red bell pepper strips
    1 cup green bell pepper strips
  • Kernels from 4 small ears of corn
    1 (10-ounce) can diced tomatoes and green chiles, drained
    1 1/2 pounds medium shrimp, peeled and deveined
    1/2 cup chopped green onions
    1 2/3 cups fat-free milk
    1 (16-ounce) can fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
    1 cup uncooked quick-cooking grits
    1 cup (4 ounces) shredded reduced-fat sharp cheddar cheese

Cook bacon in a skillet over medium heat 3 minutes or until lightly browned, stirring frequently. Add bell peppers; cook 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add tomatoes; cook 5 minutes. Add shrimp; cook 3 minutes (or until no longer translucent). Stir in green onions; remove from heat and keep warm.

Combine milk and broth in a saucepan. Bring to a boil, and stir in grits. Bring to a boil; reduce heat, and cook for 5 minutes or until thick, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat and stir in cheese. Serve shrimp mixture over grits.

2 Comments »

  1. I hope you are feeling better.

    That dish looks fantastic; it makes me wish that I liked grits. I know, I know – this information is blasphemous to most.

    Comment by restaurantrefugee — September 1, 2008 @ 7:18 pm

  2. Thanks, hon. Actually, I don’t love grits by themselves, like as a breakfast side dish. However, I love them in meals like this–it’s a nice textural contrast.

    Comment by bettyjoan — September 2, 2008 @ 11:30 am


Leave a Reply

