Trouble With Toast

Recipe: Pot Sticker Salad with Sugar Snap Peas | August 12, 2008

Way back in the beginning of my relationship with Jason, he surprised me with a beautiful Calphalon steamer. I was absolutely giddy–I believe the first words out of my mouth (after giving my oh-so-thoughtful man some hot lovin’, of course) were, “Now I can make dumplings!”

Nearly three years later, I love Jason more than ever, and I’ve treated him to many varieties of steamed veggies–but I’ve never made dumplings. Sue me. I did, however, use the steamer to HEAT some pre-made dumplings for this delicious and simple summer salad from Real Simple magazine. Even my ghetto Kroger had some good frozen pot sticker choices, and the snap peas and carrots were tender-crisp and perfectly sweet. If you like, and if you’re not allergic like me, add some chopped peanuts for extra flavor and crunch. Enjoy!

  • 1 one-pound bag frozen pot stickers
    3/4 pound sugar snap peas, trimmed (about 4 cups)
    2 medium carrots, sliced
    1/2 cup low-sodium soy sauce
    1 tablespoon sesame oil
    1/4 pound bean sprouts (about 1 1/2 cups)
    2 scallions, sliced

Fill a large saucepan with 1 inch of water and fit with a steamer basket (or fill a large skillet with 1/2 inch of water). Bring the water to a boil. Place the pot stickers in the basket (or skillet), cover, and steam for 4 minutes. Add the snap peas and carrots, cover, and steam until the pot stickers are cooked through and the vegetables are tender, 4 to 6 minutes.

Meanwhile, in a small bowl, combine the soy sauce and sesame oil. Divide the bean sprouts among bowls and top with the pot stickers and vegetables. Sprinkle with scallions. Serve with the sauce.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

