Trouble With Toast

Recipe: Honey Chicken with Grilled Corn Salad | August 7, 2008

Here’s another recipe–slightly modified–that I got from the August issue of Real Simple magazine.  Corn is sooooooo delicious right now, so I’ve been trying to use it in every possible way.  Honestly, my favorite corn iteration is a good creamy chowder (with bacon, of course), but when it’s 98 degrees outside with 98 percent humidity, any kind of soup is absolutely out of the question.

A note: While Worcestershire sauce is usually one of my favorite seasonings, I somehow ran out and didn’t know it (wait, that’s probably BECAUSE it’s one of my favorite seasonings).  Strapped for time and missing a key part of the marinade, I improvised.  Instead of the tablespoon of Worcestershire, I subbed about half a tablespoon of soy sauce, half a tablespoon of white wine vinegar, a few shakes of garlic powder, and a couple drops of Tabasco.  The verdict?  Boyfriend didn’t taste the difference.

  • 1/2 cup ketchup
    2 tablespoons honey
    1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
    1 1/2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken tenders
    Kosher salt and pepper
    Canola oil, for the grill
    6 ears corn, shucked
    1 tablespoon unsalted butter, cut into pieces
    2 scallions, sliced

In a medium bowl, combine the ketchup, honey, Worcestershire sauce, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper.  Coat chicken with mixture (note: if you want to baste the chicken while grilling, reserve a bit BEFORE putting the chicken in the bowl).  Lightly oil the grill. Cook the chicken, turning occasionally, until cooked through, 6 to 8 minutes, basting with the ketchup mixture during the last 2 minutes of cooking.  Meanwhile, grill the corn, turning occasionally, until slightly charred, 3 to 4 minutes (note: this time might work if you have a real outdoor grill, but if you have an indoor grill pan, cover the corn with foil and grill/roast for about 15-20 minutes). Cut the kernels off the cobs, place in a medium bowl, and toss with the butter, scallions, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper. Serve with the chicken.

3 Comments »

  1. like the recipes…..send me an email

    Comment by Chicken Fried Gourmet — August 8, 2008 @ 2:14 am

  2. I love grilled chicken and am always looking for new marinades, but I must say that the ketchup turns me off completely. But then I’ve always been slightly ketchup-phobic. On the other hand, have you ever tried Barefoot Contessa’s fresh corn salad? I don’t even cook the corn…just cut it straight off the cob, toss with olive oil, cider vinegar, and stir in some bermuda onion and kosher salt. Right before serving, toss with some chiffonaded basil. Yum!

    Comment by hereinfranklin — August 9, 2008 @ 9:51 pm

  3. CFG: Thanks! And done. 🙂

    HIF: I’ve never tried Ina’s corn salad, but it sounds great! As for the ketchup-phobia, I can’t really relate because I love the stuff, but I didn’t find this particular marinade to be SUPER heavy on the ketchuppy flavor. The worcestershire sauce (or, in my case, random stuff meant to sub for worcestershire sauce) seemed to balance everything out. Honestly, in the end, it just tasted like BBQ sauce to me.

    Comment by bettyjoan — August 11, 2008 @ 2:13 pm


Leave a Reply

