Trouble With Toast

Recipe: Roast Turkey and Prosciutto Pizza | July 23, 2008

Sacrifice is a part of life. We all know (if not embrace) this tenet, so why is it so hard to sacrifice when it comes to a diet?

In my desire to drop a few extra pounds and get into “fighting shape” for the half-marathon, I’ve adopted a low-fat lifestyle. Basically, there are no flat-out restrictions, but the goal is to keep the fat grams to no more than about 15 per meal. Yes, I know that recent research states that the low-carb diet is the best for weight loss, but I’m still skeptical about any regimen that practically eliminates an entire food group, AND I need the energy from carbohydrates (I do try to eat complex, whole grain ones) when I run.

My goal with this meal was to make one of my favorite foods–pizza–fit into my 15-grams-or-less framework while still maintaining satisfying flavor and portion size. I got the recipe from an old Cooking Light magazine, and it turned out really well (with a few tweaks, of course). I was afraid the balsamic turkey was going to oversweeten the dish, but the bitterness of the arugula and the saltiness of the Parmesan and the prosciutto balanced everything out. Even with less cheese than the recipe suggested, the pizza tasted like…well, pizza! And, surprisingly, the store-bought crust held up well against the many toppings. Most importantly, since this pizza was half the size of a large delivery version, I felt happy and decidedly NOT bloated when I finished eating. Score one for “healthy” junk food!

  • 1 prebaked pizza crust (I used a 10-oz Boboli whole wheat version)
    3/4 cup marinara sauce
    1/2 cup shredded fontina cheese
    1 cup shredded cooked turkey breast (I actually used tenderloin)
    1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
    1/2 cup thinly sliced red onion
    1/4 cup grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese
    1/4 teaspoon coarsely ground black pepper
    1 cup torn arugula leaves
    3 slices prosciutto, finely chopped

Preheat oven to 425°. Place crust on a baking sheet. Spread sauce over crust; sprinkle with fontina. Toss turkey with vinegar. Top pizza with turkey, onion, Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese, and pepper. Bake at 425° for 12 minutes or until crust is browned. Remove from oven. Sprinkle with arugula and prosciutto.

2 Comments »

  1. The arugula is a nice touch. If you ever need it, I have a really great pizza crust recipe that I make with whole what flour that takes about 15 minutes to make. (You use quick rise yeast). Looks great.

    Comment by Lemmonex — July 23, 2008 @ 12:45 pm

  2. Yay, I definitely want that pizza crust recipe–I think that would take this dish to a new level of awesomeness.

    Comment by bettyjoan — July 24, 2008 @ 12:24 pm


Leave a Reply

