Trouble With Toast

This picture sums up my weekend | May 19, 2008

Apparently, in my family, “graduation” translates to “eat and drink until your body is forced to shut down.”  My sister, her boyfriend, and my boyfriend all graduated from the Georgetown University Law Center on Sunday, so the weekend was filled with many tasty treats.

On Friday night, we celebrated at Proof, my favorite restaurant in the city.  What an amazing night of food and fun!  Appetizers included the always-impressive charcuterie board, the sauteed sweetbreads with dates and bacon (so popular that a second order was placed), the meatballs, the Wagyu sashimi, the asparagus soup (delicious), and the gnocchi with asparagus, ramps, peas, and mushrooms (as good as it’s ever been–pillowy yet rich, and the perfect expression of spring). Everything was wonderful, though the sweetbreads seemed to be the table favorite.  The entree winner was the miso-glazed sablefish (with mushrooms, bok choy, and potato puree), which I fell in love with on my last visit. It was just as wonderful as I remembered. The halibut (with sunchokes, among other things) was a close second–the folks in the kitchen really know how to cook fish. Black sesame-crusted salmon was very tasty, and the pea shoot spaetzle that accompanied it was a lovely touch. The pork loin and a beet salad also went over well, though the fish dishes definitely outshadowed them.  As for dessert, the goat’s cheesecake and sticky toffee pudding cake were terrific as usual, and chef also put together a refreshing strawberry shortcake.  I couldn’t possibly remember all of the wines and beers we drank, but I do recall that our server was wonderful about listening to our likes and dislikes and then making spot-on recommendations. The atmosphere was perfect for our celebration–it’s such an upbeat, energetic place, and that fit our celebratory mood to a tee.  I will miss dining at Proof once I move to Atlanta (at the end of this week, eek), but it will be at the top of my list on every return visit to DC.

Saturday was lunch at Matchbox, which is where Jason and I had many of our early dates.  Miniburgers?  Gooooood.  White pizza with shrimp, cilantro, red onions, and a balsamic reduction?  Gooooood.  We ended the day of packing with delivery from Great Wall Szechuan House on 14th Street.  Sadly, this is the only reasonably reliable (certainly not outstanding) Chinese food in the District, and I only discovered it over the past few months.  Here’s hopin’ that Atlanta has a little more quality in that genre.

Sunday found the family gathered for brunch at Mie N Yu in Georgetown.  Service was a little spotty, but the cocktails were fab (yes, we were drinkng at 11 AM, what’s it to ya?!) and the food was actually pretty good.  Calamari was average (though it came with a nice spicy dipping sauce), and bacon-wrapped dates were not as good as the version at Jaleo (in my opinion), but the crab cake sandwiches were enjoyed by all.  I got “Best Orderer” accolades for choosing the veal wraps–kinda like mu shu, with shredded veal and scallion pancakes.  Nom.  The tempura apples were awesome for dessert as well.

After all of that, there was still a barbeque at Barzelay’s house to attend, complete with homemade pulled pork sandwiches, creamed corn (drooooool–his version is so incredibly good), cucumber salad, cole slaw, fruit salad, and assorted fruit pies.  There’s no shame in going back for thirds, right?

Wow, I should forward this post to my supervisors.  Then they’d understand why I’m falling asleep at my desk today!  Ah, well–it was all in the name of graduation celebration!

2 Comments »

  1. I gained 5 lbs just reading this. I freaking love the miniburgers at Matchbox and those parmesan onion straws are divine.

    Comment by Lemmonex — May 19, 2008 @ 6:55 pm

  2. Jason loves those onion straws, but I never end up eating more than a few–frankly, I’d prefer more miniburgers. They’re so worth that “I’m gonna hurl” feeling later. Ha!

    Comment by bettyjoan — May 22, 2008 @ 10:17 am


Leave a Reply

