Trouble With Toast

Charming Colorado Kitchen | April 1, 2008

FINALLY, after months of begging, my sister and boyfriend piled onto the S-bus and joined me for dinner at Colorado Kitchen–it was a couple of weeks ago and was the first visit for all of us. We were immediately charmed by the retro feel of the restaurant. Loved the vintage salt and pepper shakers!

The soup of the day (of which we were immediately provided a sample) was shellfish chowder, and it was fantastically flavorful (so much so that my sister ordered a bowl). We also started with an order of goat cheese fritters, which were served with big fat delicious asparagus. Yum!

Sister went for the fricasseed chicken leg with mushrooms and herbs, which was tender and tasty. It was listed under the “small plates” section of the menu, but with the soup, it was plenty of food.  Boyfriend had the pork chop, which was served with potato rosti and an AMAZING cranberry-granny smith chutney that I would buy in bulk if I could–and the chop itself was beautifully cooked. I had the roasted chicken with green beans and mashed potatoes, which was good (and had a nice crust) but paled in comparison to the rest of the food.

We each got a dessert–the baked apple thingy was good, the “King Ding” (Chef’s take on a ding dong) was great, and the sweet potato pie was spectacular.

Prices were reasonable, service was excellent, and a good time was had by all. In fact, boyfriend and I even signed up for the “Bangers and Beer” event, which takes place tonight and involves samples of many different sausages and brews. I also love the “adopt a soldier” concept–as a person who serves veterans for a living, I applaud the effort to bring a little bit of the comfort of home to our men and women overseas. Too bad I only got to experience this place two months before my move–darn me and my hesitation. Anyway, we really enjoyed ourselves, and we’ll definitely be back!

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

