Trouble With Toast

Recipe: Smoky Corn Chowder | March 13, 2008

Fresh, canned, or frozen, I really like corn. Of course, it’s at its best in the summertime, when you can buy delicious just-picked ears, shuck them yourself, and serve them up boiled with salt, pepper, and a little butter.

I also love corn in soup, so it’s somewhat odd that I’ve never previously attempted corn chowder. This version came from Real Simple magazine, and it is yum yum yummy. The smoky, salty bacon balanced the sweet corn and the near-caramelized onions. Even though my blender was being persnickety and didn’t puree as well as I would have liked, the flavor of the soup made up for any textural mishaps. And it was great the next day, which is always a plus in my book. I’ll definitely make this recipe again.

  • 8 ounces sliced bacon, cut into 1/2-inch pieces (I splurged for Black Forest thick-cut, and it was well worth the extra cash)
  • 1 large sweet onion, chopped (I used red)
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 2 10-ounce packages frozen corn
  • 3 cups low-sodium chicken or vegetable broth
  • 1 cup half-and-half
  • Kosher salt and pepper
  • 4 scallions, trimmed and thinly sliced

Cook the bacon in a large saucepan or Dutch oven over medium heat until crisp, about 8 minutes. Transfer to a paper towel-lined plate.

Spoon off and discard all but 2 tablespoons of the drippings and return the pot to medium heat. Cook the onion, stirring occasionally, until soft, 5 to 7 minutes. Add the garlic, paprika, and red pepper and cook, stirring, for 2 minutes. Stir in the corn, broth, and half-and-half and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes.

Transfer half the soup to a blender and puree until smooth. Return to the pot, add 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/2 teaspoon pepper, and stir to combine.

Divide the soup among individual bowls and top with the scallions and reserved bacon.

corn-chowder-1.jpgcorn-chowder-3.jpg

Posted in Recipes
Tags: , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Of all places, au bon pain has an awesome corn cowder (though I am sure not as good as yours). I had a friend in college who used to call ahead and ask if they had it–it is that good.

    Comment by Lemmonex — March 14, 2008 @ 12:24 am

  2. Actually, Au Bon Pain has good soups all around–they have a wild mushroom bisque that is SO good, I get super pissed if I show up and they don’t have it. Maybe I should be smart like your friend and call ahead, lol.

    Comment by bettyjoan — March 17, 2008 @ 7:05 pm

  3. I just came back to South Africa from a trip to the US and I loved the corn chowder at Au Bon Pain. I had it for lunch every day while I was there (except the days they ran out – which was a big dissapointment) Now Im searching the internet for a recipe to recreate this delight at home. Does anyone have one that matches up?

    Comment by Terese — May 21, 2008 @ 9:01 am


Leave a Reply

