Trouble With Toast

Recipe: Lamb burgers with spinach and red onion salad | March 3, 2008

After reading this month’s Bon Apetit, Food & Wine, Cooking Light, and Real Simple magazines, I had torn out about 20 recipes that I really wanted to try. Since I couldn’t decide which one would be first in line, I asked my boyfriend (a.k.a., my guinea pig) to pick Saturday night’s experimental meal. He opted for these delicious lamb burgers, and they really turned out well. The combination of the cinnamon and paprika gave the meat a nice smoky tinge, and the mint chimed in at the end of each bite to add a little refreshing kick. The spinach, onion, and feta salad was the perfect accompaniment, and you could easily serve it on the side if you didn’t prefer to top the burgers with it. Jason really liked the texture of the lamb and found it to be a nice change of pace from the usual beef burger. Enjoy!

  • 1/3 cup fresh chopped mint
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • 3/4 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 1 1/3 pounds ground lamb
  • 4 hamburger buns
  • 1 1/2 cups baby spinach leaves
  • 1 1/3 cups crumbled feta
  • 4 1/4-inch thick red onion slices
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons balsamic vinegar

Mix first 4 ingredients and 1 1/2 tablespoons oil in medium bowl; mix in lamb. Shape into four 3/4-inch thick patties. Cook patties in large nonstick skillet (I used a grill pan) over medium-high heat. Note: the recipe says 4 minute per side for medium, but I cooked mine 5 minutes per side, and I still got rare to medium rare. Granted, that’s what I was going for, but I just thought I’d let you know to go with your own timing if you don’t like your lamb baaaa-ing at you like I do.

lamb-patty-raw.jpgspinach-onion-salad.jpg

Meanwhile, preheat broiler. Broil buns until golden, about 2 minutes. Top each bun bottom with burger. Toss spinach, feta, onion, vinegar, and 1 1/2 tablespoons oil in bowl. Place salad atop burgers. Cover with bun tops, pressing firmly to compact.

lamb-burger-1.jpglamb-burger-2.jpg

Posted in Recipes
Tags: , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Wow, these look really great. I love lamb and feta together.

    Comment by Lemmonex — March 3, 2008 @ 2:59 pm

  2. Yeah, I’m usually not a big lamb fan, but these were delicious. The cinnamon and mint gave the burgers great flavor!

    Comment by bettyjoan — March 10, 2008 @ 7:13 pm


Leave a Reply

