Trouble With Toast

I need your support! | March 23, 2008

Okay, I try really hard to keep this blog focused on food.  However, since it reaches a pretty decent-sized audience, sometimes I must use my powers for good and occasionally divert from the culinary to the philanthropic.  Hope you don’t mind!

In May, I’ll be participating in the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer for the second time.  It’s an amazing event, and I’m so proud to be a part of it–but I don’t get to walk unless I raise a minimum of $1,800.  That’s a hefty chunk of change, but I did it last year (actually, I raised over $2,200), and I know I can do it again this year.  With your help!

On Tuesday, my supporters and I are heading to Virginia (as much as I’d like to have EVERY event in DC, I do acknowledge that there are folks who live on the other side of the river) to drink and be merry for this important cause.  Here are the details: we’ll be at Gua-Rapo, 2039 Wilson Blvd (closest Metro is Court House), from 6-10 PM on the 25th. The usual Gua-Rapo happy hour is from 5-7 PM, but they’re doing two extra things for us–if you donate (a $10 contribution is suggested), happy hour specials will be extended till 10 PM.  Also, three drinks–mojitos, sangria, and Miller Lite drafts–will be increased by $1 after 7 PM, and that extra money will be given to us at the end of the night.

If you have any questions, please let me know.  I hope to see all of you there–and definitely feel free to bring friends!  If you can’t come and would like to donate anyway, this link will take you to my online fundraising HQ.

Thanks so much for your help!  And now back to regularly scheduled, delicious programming…

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

